Monday, October 12, 2015

List of 10 Columbus Day Trivia Facts

Columbus Day became a federal holiday in the US in 1937.

1992 was the 500th of the Columbus discovery.

Colorado was the first state to celebrate Columbus Day in 1905.

Columbus Day is always celebrated on the second Monday in October.

Columbus was born in Genoa, Italy in 1451.

Columbus didn't believe that he discovered a new continent; but thought that he found a new route to the West Indies.

Columbus died in 1506 when he was 55 years old.

There are no known portraits of Columbus that exist.

Three states that do not observe Columbus Day are South Dakota, Hawaii, and Alaska.

New York City has the largest Columbus Day parade.

No comments:

Post a Comment