Thursday, July 18, 2013

I participated in this campaign for One2One Network. I received a free copy of the CD to facilitate my review. By posting, I am eligible for incentives. All opinions stated are my own.

Court Yard Hounds Album Review Project

I think everyone has heard of the popular country music band Dixie Chicks.  Two-thirds of the former Dixie Chicks - talented sisters Martie Mcguire and Emily Robison have been away from the limelight for a few years but are ready to get back into the studio with their new creation of Court Yard Hounds.

Amelita, out now, marks the Court Yard Hounds' second album.

Containing 11 new tracks, Robison and Maguire took a different approach with Amelita than their debut album in 2010. This album contains a new perspective, which is due in part to time passed since Robison’s divorce. “I’ve been freed of all of those time-heals-everything kind of things,” says Robison. “Now, I’ve opened up to other ideas and ways of looking at life and the world. I think it’s not only a more hopeful album, but it’s more… well fun."

The Court Yard Hounds’ new album is a clear statement of who the girls are as artists, defining their sound as a band, with soaring songs that are personal, yet familiar and widely relatable.

"I love this band...the way we explore new aspects of ourselves and what we can expect from each other, both musically and as people," says Martie. "We are close. Plus, being on the road and being in the studio is like my spa from the everyday challenges of just being a mom.

Media Links:

Links To Buy Album:

Amelita Track Listing:
  1. Sunshine
  2. Amelita
  3. The World Smiles
  4. Aimless Upward
  5. Guy Like You
  6. Rock All Night
  7. Phoebe
  8. Divided
  9. Gets You Down
  10. Watch Your Step
  11. The Road You Take

My take:  These girls are really talented and sound wonderful as usual.   I loved the songs, especially "Watch Your Step" and "Amelita".  I think the girls have evolved in that they sound like some songs relate to their life experiences.  Some of my own events in life can relate to them.  I think you will be happy with the girls' new CD if you liked them before.

No comments:

Post a Comment