Sunday, May 5, 2013

Rod Stewart's New Album Time #Review

Disclosure:  I participated in this campaign for One2One Network. I received a free copy of the CD to facilitate my review. By posting, I am eligible for incentives. All opinions stated are my own.

Rod Stewart's New Album Time  #Review

  • Rod Stewart has spent four decades being a rock star, three being a parent, and has a new album's worth of rollicking stories to tell. Time is his first album of new material in almost 20 years (and his hairstyle hasn't changed one bit!)  
  • Time, releasing May 7th, 2013, marks Stewart's long-awaited return to his songwriting roots and features 12 tracks, 11 of which he wrote and produced.
  • The album was born from a burst of inspiration that came while Rod was reviewing his life for his recent memoir. Rod rediscovered his voice as a songwriter and rekindled his gift for writing the honest, nerve-touching narratives that have been the cornerstone to the first three decades of his career.
  • "Suddenly ideas for lyrics were piling up in my head," he says. "Next thing I knew, I had a song called 'It's Over' about divorce and separation. And now I was getting up in the middle of the night and scrambling for a pen to write things down, which has never happened to me. I finished seven or eight songs very quickly and I still wasn't done, and it became apparent that I would eventually have a whole album of material to record."
Rod Stewart has been around for a long time!  I remember first listening to him on the radio in the 70's.  Yea, I've been around for a little while too.   I think everybody has heard of Maggie May that was really popular.   Hot Legs is one of my favorites songs of his too.

Rod has always been a favorite singer of mine so I was really excited to get to review his new album titled Time.  His voice is so unique and wonderful and sounds better than ever.  Rod is 68 years old but sure doesn't seem it.  He's still a rocker but is a little tamer than his younger years.  I immediately listened to the CD and was so impressed with this awesome new album.

I happen to be listening to this CD now (again) and really love these new songs.  A favorite of mine is She Makes Me Happy in which he sings about how happy his life is now.  I really liked this song and kept listening to it over and over.  The mandolin sounds great in it.  It's a good feeling song for sure.  A few lines are:  I'm rocking in paradise/When I get home there's a hot bath waiting/Glass of wine on the side.   I also liked Finest Woman which a few lines are She does not drink, she does not smoke/I rock her world even though I'm stone broke.

Here is the Time track listing:  

1.   She Makes Me Happy

2.   Can't Stop Me Now
3.   It's Over
4.   Brighton Beach
5.   Beautiful Morning
6.   Live the Life
7.   Finest Woman
8.   Time
9.   Picture in a Frame
10.  Sexual Religion
11.  Make Love to Me Tonight
12.  Pure Love

Along with the release of Time, Stewart is set to embark on the European leg of his Live the Life tour on June 1st, while American dates with Steve Winwood will kick off October 17th.

Links To Buy Album:

No comments:

Post a Comment